The Lives Trilogy and Prequel

When I was a counselor, I volunteered as an adjunct educator for the Wetterling Foundation for Stranger Abducted and Sexually Exploited Children. Now known as the Jacob Wetterling Resource Center, it was started by Jerry and Patty Wetterling after their son, Jacob, was abducted at gunpoint by a masked man with a gun in front of his nine-year-old brother, Trevor, and Jacob’s twelve-year-old best friend, Aaron in October 1989. Being from the Midwest, Jacob’s story moved me to help where I could. Jacob’s abduction remained a mystery for nearly 27 years. In September 2017, Danny Heinrich, a long-time person of interest in the abduction of another boy, confessed to kidnapping and murdering Jacob.

It was through working for the Foundation, and listening to the stories of kids, parents, and families, that the genesis of The Lives Trilogy and Prequel were born. Simply stated, I felt I needed to give back to those kids. I felt compelled to tell their story. While the stories are fiction, the facts are true, based upon FBI statistics, and based upon information from the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children. I also based them upon the stories I had heard over the years as a counselor and educator.

I am pleased to announce that my publisher, Black Rose Writing, has re-issued Taking Lives, the Prequel to the Lives Trilogy; Stolen Lives, Book One of the Lives Trilogy; Shattered Lives, Book Two of the Lives Trilogy; and Splintered Lives, Book Three of the Lives Trilogy.

I took the time to painstakingly revise, update, and fully edit each book. The books will be available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble on May 25th, BUT . . . . . . . They are currently available right now for preorder through Black Rose Writing at a 15% discount. The link to each book is under the book description.

Each book along with the book cover is below:

The Lives Trilogy Prequel, Taking Lives

FBI Agent Pete Kelliher and his partner search for the clues behind the bodies of six boys left in various and remote parts of the country. Even though they live in separate parts of the country, the lives of FBI Kelliher, 11-year-old Brett McGovern, and 11-year-old George Tokay are separate pieces of a puzzle. The two boys become interwoven with the same thread that Pete Kelliher holds in his hand. The three of them are on a collision course and when that happens, their futures grow dark as each search for a way out.

Taking Lives by Joseph Lewis

Book One, Stolen Lives:

Two thirteen-year-old boys are abducted off a safe suburban street. Kelliher and his team of FBI agents have 24 hours to find them or they will end up like the other kids they found- dead! They have no leads, no clues, and nothing to go on. And, Kelliher suspects that one of his team members might be involved.  

Stolen Lives by Joseph Lewis

Book Two of the Lives Trilogy, Shattered Lives:

The boys are home, but now they have to fit back in with their families and friends. Their parents and the FBI thought the boys were safe. They were until people began dying. Now the hunt is on for six dangerous and desperate men who vow revenge. No leads and nothing to go on, the FBI can only sit back and wait. A dangerous game that threatens not only the boys, but their families.

Shattered Lives by Joseph Lewis

Book Three of the Lives Trilogy, Splintered Lives:

Three dangerous men with nothing to lose offer a handsome reward if fourteen-year-old Brett McGovern, one of the boys held captive, was killed. He has no idea that he, his younger brother, and a friend are targets. More than anyone, these three men vow to kill George, whom they blame for forcing them to run and hide.

A fun vacation turns into a nightmare and ends where it started, back on the Navajo Nation Reservation, high on a mesa held sacred by George and his grandfather. Outnumbered and outgunned, George is willing to make the ultimate sacrifice to protect his adoptive father and his adoptive brothers- but can he? Without knowing who these men are? Or where they are? Without knowing whom to trust? Is he prepared for betrayal that leads to his heartbreak and possible death?

Splintered Lives by Joseph Lewis

David King of Black Rose Writing has expertly redone each cover, and I have to say I am pleased with how well each cover depicts the action of each story. I hope you take the opportunity to read or even reread The Lives Trilogy and Prequel.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s